East African Sub-regional Support Initiative for the Advancement of Women (EASSI)

EASSI is a collaboration between individuals, NGOs, coalitions and networks in the Eastern Africa sub region committed to the advancement of women. EASSI covers eight countries of: Burundi, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Somalia, Tanzania and Uganda. EASSI prioritized the 12 critical areas of concern for women of the Beijing and African (PFAs). The founding principle of EASSI was to stimulate activism at national, regional and international levels and to make concrete and meaningful change for the women of the sub-region. It was expected EASSI would enhance national and regional processes. This principle continues to guide the direction of EASSI's networking, research, advocacy and capacity building towards enhancing gender equity and social justice.